Caldon Canal

The Caldon Canal opened in 1776 to carry limestone from the quarries at Cauldon Low to Stoke-on-Trent. 

The section from Hazelhurst to Froghall reopened in 1974 after being restored by a partnership including volunteers from the then Caldon Canal Society, Stoke-on-Trent Boat Club and other community groups.

Uttoxeter Canal

The Uttoxeter Canal leaves the Caldon just before its terminus. It fully opened in 1811 and was closed in 1849.

The first lock and basin in Froghall were reopened in 2005, after restoration by a partnership including volunteers from the Caldon & Uttoxeter Canals Trust, Inland Waterways Association and Waterway Recovery Group.

Who are we?

The Caldon Canal Society, later Caldon & Uttoxeter Canals Trust, started life as the Caldon Canal Committee in a series of meetings in 1963. It was a key partner in the restoration of the canal which reopened to navigation in 1974, with Society members involved in both planning and volunteer work parties. In 2003 the society was a member of the Destination Froghall partnership which opened the first lock and basin of the Uttoxeter Canal in 2005. The Society subsequently became a Trust and a Charitable Incorporated Organisation as in 2016. It is also a Registered Charity.

Our newsletter

Interested in the Heritage of the canals in the Churnet Valley?  Sign up for the new Heritage newsletter from the Caldon & Uttoxeter Canals Trust.

Each issue will include archive photos, fascinating snippets of history, information about projects and events you can get involved with, as well as all the latest news from the two canals.

Waterway Recovery Group volunteers on the Uttoxeter Canal

Volunteers from the London branch of the Waterway Recovery Group visited the Uttoxeter Canal in June 2025, spending a weekend staying at Great Wood Hall in Tean, while working on the canal in the vicinity of Bridge 70. 

Nigel Jackson Memorial Planter

Planter

On 17th May 2025 a group of waterway friends gathered around the beautifully flourishing triangular planter just off the network of paths near the lock at Froghall.  We were there to unveil a plaque to Nigel Jackson, a long-time boater and resident of Ipstones, who sadly died last year.  The donations from his funeral were given to Caldon & Uttoxeter Canals Trust for this project. We worked with Canal & River Trust volunteers to design, build, fill and plant the planter, which is made out of old canal stop planks. 

Next Event

Sunday, 26 October, 2025 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Canal Heritage Walk - Denford

Join us for a 2 hour guided walk to explore the history and canal heritage of the area around Denford.  The route of the waterways in this area was changed twice after the Caldon Canal was first built, in 1801 and again in 1841.  Come along to discover why, and how the magnificent Hazelhurst Aqueduct was a ‘late addition’, on this 3 mile, leisurely, figure of eight walk between Deep Hayes and Hazelhurst. 

Public event